Thursday, 20 April 2017

"Mott" by MOTT THE HOOPLE [feat Ian Hunter and Mick Ralphs] (April 2006 Columbia/Legacy 'Expanded Edition' CD – Vic Anesini Remaster) - A Review by Mark Barry...

This Review Along With Hundreds of Others Is Available In My
SOUNDS GOOD E-Book on all Amazon sites
CLASSIC 1970s ROCK and POP - Exceptional CD Remasters  
Just Click Below To Purchase for £3.95
Thousands of E-Pages - All Details and In-Depth Reviews From Discs 
(No Cut and Paste Crap)

"…Hit The Sky…"

After three albums on Island between 1970 and 1971 that saw constant touring, critical acclaim but little chart action ("Mad Shadows", "Wildlife" and "Brain Capers") – Mott The Hoople were about to throw in the towel when they finally hit paydirt with the David Bowie assisted "All The Young Dudes" single and LP in the heady days of 1972 (the height of Glam Rock in the UK). With the mercurial Bowie a fan and his star exploding everywhere – the timing and the song was perfect. All they needed to do was to consolidate that fresh beginning – and 1973’s "Mott" followed through in real style. In fact it’s when most fans agree that the band was at its most coherent – with their identity and heir own sound – a vital high water that was achieved without needing the help of any Glam Superstar. Here are the Honaloochie Boogies...

UK released April 2006 – "Mott" by MOTT THE HOOPLE on Columbia/Legacy 82796938102 (Barcode 827969381021) is an 'Expanded Edition' CD Remaster and plays out as follows (58:42 minutes):

1. All The Way From Memphis
2. Whizz Kid
3. Hymn For The Dudes
4. Honaloochie Boogie
5. Violence
6. Drivin’ Sister
7. Ballad Of Mott The Hoople (march 26, 1972 – Zurich)
8. I’m A Cadillac / El Camino Dolo Roso
9. I Wish I Was Your Mother
Tracks 1 to 9 are 5th studio album “Mott” – released July 1973 in the UK on CBS Records S 69038 and August 1973 in the USA on Columbia KC 32425

10. Rose
11. Honaloochie Boogie (Demo version)
12. Nightmare (Demo)
13. Drivin’ Star (Live, Hammersmith Odeon)

The album was originally produced by the band (with Andy McKay of Roxy Music guesting on Sax) and this CD reappraisal offers fans 4 additions – "Rose" the non-album flip of "Honaloochie Boogie", 2 previously unreleased demos of "Honaloochie Boogie" and "Nightmare" and one incendiary live version of "Drivin' Sister" recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1973. Oddly the single edit of "All The Way From Memphis" is AWOL when there was plenty of room to include it.

It won’t take British fans very long to notice that the gorgeous gatefold die-cut artwork of the original 1973 UK LP with it’s centred plastic face and inner lyric bag is completely absent - sloppily replaced with reissue artwork. At least the 12-page booklet is better than the scrappy 8-page affair that afflicts the 2006 Legacy CD of 1972’s "All The Young Dudes". 

We get more liner notes by KEITH SMITH (Editor of the MTH Fanzine “Two Miles From Heaven”), detailed recording info, lyrics and even the D.H. Lawrence piece "A Sane Revolution" that appeared on the rear cover artwork. But the colour-photo montage that’s on inner gatefold is missing and the booklet’s impact is negligible when the original LP was a thing of beauty.

Offsetting the disappointing presentation however is the real deal - a fantastic new remaster by tape wizard VIC ANESINI whose credits include Simon & Garfunkel, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Jayhawks, Elvis Presley, Carole King, Hall & Oates and Santana to name but a few. His work is fantastic and I actively seek out his Remasters. And “Mott” had the tunes. Ian Hunter’s songwriting talents came to the fore on “Mott” - most are his songs except “Violence” and “Drivin’ Sister” which are co-writes with Guitarist Mick Ralphs (who was already in Bad Company). The other co-write is “Hymn For The Dudes” which is with Verden Allen.

The LP opens with the full album version of the rollicking "All The Way From Memphis" which to this day makes me smile (lyrics above). The grungy boogie of "Whizz Kid" could so easily have been a rocker on Bowie's "Ziggy Stardust" and the melodrama ballad "Hymn For The Dudes" is properly great Mott The Hoople - the "Thunderthighs" girly backing vocalists adding real power to a great song. The trio that follow "Honaloochie Boogie", "Violence" and "Drivin' Sister" show the differing song approaches of two huge talents – Ian Hunter and Mick Ralphs – both giving Mott The Hoople Rock, fun and that fabulous British Rock 'n' Roll swagger. But again it's the ballads that get you – the 1972 Live In Zurich "Ballad Of..." and the lovely acoustic strum of "I Wish I Was Your Mother" see the album finish on a real high.

The four bonus tracks are a typically mixed bag of the good and the average. Favourite is the beautiful ballad "Rose" – the non-album flip of "Honaloochie Boogie" (a long-prized Mott item). Musically as good is Verden Allen's "Nightmare" – that is until he opens his mouth and starts singing – he’s a terrible voice. The reissue finishes with the huge guitar punch of a live show opener "Drivin’ Sister” – but it’s already appeared on the 30th Anniversary issue of "Mott The Hoople Live".

So there you have it – a great album and a properly fab trip down Rock’s Memory Lane. It's a real shame that the booklet doesn’t celebrate "Mott" a bit more (an Indie label would have splashed out 20-pages or more) and a few more bonus tracks would have sweetened the deal - but at least what’s on offer is sonically brilliant (a fantastic remaster by Anesini).

Verden Allen would leave as would Mick Ralphs - but with principal song-writer and singer Ian Hunter still at the helm – the band would go on to even better things with their underrated 6th LP "The Hoople" in 1974 with the gorgeous "Trudi's Song" on it (see reviews for that and "Dudes" from 1972).

Now in 2017 - this remastered "Mott" CD is cheaper than a bag of chips after the pub. 
Get your greasy fingers on this 70ts Classic Rock right away...

No comments:

Spines of Exceptional CD Remasters

Spines of Exceptional CD Remasters

INDEX - Artists, Albums, Record Labels, CD Remaster Engineers, Liner Notes Authors, Links etc