Monday, 2 July 2018

"Shock Treatment/Autumn" by DON ELLIS/ORCHESTRA (April 2018 Beat Goes On Reissue - 2LPs onto 2CDs with Bonuses - Andrew Thompson Remasters) - A Review by Mark Barry...

This Review Along With 100s Of Others Is Available in my
SOUNDS GOOD E-Book on all Amazon sites
SOUL, FUNK and JAZZ FUSION - Exception CD Remasters  
Just Click Below To Purchase for £3.95
Thousands of E-Pages - All Details and In-Depth Reviews From Discs 
(No Cut and Paste Crap)

"...Seven To The Bar..."

England's Beat Goes On (BGO) continues it Don Ellis CD reissue campaign with this further twofer (see below for other reissues). Here are the details worth trumpeting...

UK released 27 April 2018 (3 May 2018 in the USA) - "Shock Treatment/Autumn" by DON ELLIS and DON ELLIS and his ORCHESTRA on Beat Goes On BGOCD 1333 (Barcode 5017261213334) offers two Stereo albums from 1968 and 1969 Remastered in 2018 onto 2CDs with Four Bonus Tracks (issued 2001) that plays out as follows:

Disc 1 "Shock Treatment" (66:43 minutes):
1. A New Kind Of Country
2. Night City
3. Homecoming
4. Mercy Maybe Mercy
5. Zim
6. Opus 5
7. Star Children
8. Beat Me, Daddy, Seven To The Bar
9. Milo's Theme
10. Seven Up
11. The Tihai
12. Zim (Alternate Take)
13. I Remember Clifford
14. Rasty
Credited to DON ELLIS and Produced by JOHN HAMMOND - the original July 1968 US and UK LPs on Columbia CS 9668 and CBS Records S 63356 were 10-track affairs. The above track run for this CD mimics exactly the reinterpreted running order of the May 2001 US CD reissue on Koch Jazz KOC-CD 8590 (Barcode 099923859024). If you want to sequence the original "Shock Treatment" album use the following 10 tracks from this CD:
Side 1: Tracks 1, 4, 6, 8 and 11
Side 2: Tracks 9, 7, 3, 10 and 5

Disc 2 "Autumn" (57:44 minutes):
1. Variations For Trumpet [Side 1]
2. Scratt And Fluggs
3. Pussy Wiggle Stomp
4. K.C. Blues [Side 2]
5. Child Of Ecstasy
6. Indian Lady
Credited to DON ELLIS and his ORCHESTRA and Produced by AL KOOPER – Tracks 1 to 6 are the original March 1969 US and UK Stereo LPs on Columbia CS 9721 and CBS Records S 63503.

You get the usual card slipcase (makes the reissue look classy), a 24-page booklet that reproduces the original LP dedications by Digby Diehl for "Shock Treatment" and hip Producer/one time Blood, Sweat & Tears songwriter Al Kooper for 1969's "Autumn" - as well as a new appraisal of Doin Ellis' musical legacy by Mojo's main writer CHARLES WARING. The 2018 Remasters are once again carried out by BGO's resident Audio Engineer ANDREW THOMPSON and being licensed Sony material - sound awesome. At times you have to turn down the sheer assault of brass instruments that hit you on say "Opus 5" while the funky Bongo interplay with Ellis on "The Tihai" is fantastic stuff.

The first album is better heard as released with Track 2 "Mercy Maybe Mercy" being amongst my faves - 60ts TV Cops cool. It's writer Hank Levy is also represented here by "A New Kind Of Country" whilst Howlett Smith gets the lengthy "Opus 5" and decidedly shorter "Seven Up" with Ellis having penned the bulk of the rest. The four-minute 'Alternate Take' of John Magruder's "Zim" is a worthy addition whilst the unreleased trio of "Night City", "I Remember Clifford" and "Rasty" show DE is a more mellow lounge-lizard mood and so were probably left off the original platter because they didn't fit in with the hip 'n' happening vibe of the others. And "K.C. Blues" from "Autumn" is gorgeous stuff whilst the two lengthy pieces "Variants For Trumpet" and "Indian Lady" at 19 and 18 minutes are tour de force playtime. Treatment indeed...

A sweet release from BGO and one that Don Ellis fans will need saspo...

PS: The other DON ELLIS titles in this BGO series are:
1. The New Don Ellis Band Goes Underground [1969]/Don Ellis At Fillmore [1970]
(Beat Goes On BGOCD 1143 (Barcode 5017261211439 - released 2014)

2. Tears Of Joy [1971]/Connection [1972]
(Beat Goes On BGOCD1317 – Barcode 5017261213174 - released 2017)

No comments:

Spines of Exceptional CD Remasters

Spines of Exceptional CD Remasters

INDEX - Artists, Albums, Record Labels, CD Remaster Engineers, Liner Notes Authors, Links etc